Lama Yeshe’s Request for Geshe Kelsang to come to England

This is a little bit of history that I hadn’t known about before tonight. It’s now on the Wikipedia article about Geshe Kelsang Gyatso. We are so fortunate that Lama Yeshe and Trijang Rinpoche requested Geshe Kelsang to come to the West and that he accepted.

In Geshe Kelsang’s own words:

When I was in India I received an invitation from Manjushri Institute in England through Lama Yeshe, who was my very close friend in Tibet. He and I were from the same monastery in Tibet and we had the same Teacher. He wrote to me and requested me please to go to England and give Dharma teachings. I received this invitation but I didn’t answer for two months. At that time it was difficult for me to say yes due to certain commitments to local Tibetan people, and also I thought how could I teach as I could not speak English? I had no confidence. Lama Yeshe was very clever; he went to visit my root Guru Kyabje Trijang Rinpoche, and requested him to ask me to go to England to teach Dharma. He knew if my root Guru asked me, then I would agree to go.

0 Responses to “Lama Yeshe’s Request for Geshe Kelsang to come to England”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

